“Potential Long-Term Impact Of Mental-Illness On Employment & Personal Finance”

04/24/2012

By Howard Lovely, Jr.

See chart: Based on the official Social Security Earnings Data For Howard Lovely Jr….(Presentation PDF)

Considering that I actually started working between the ages of 6 & 7 in the family restaurant back in 1969 / 1970,….at nearly 50 years old I have one hell of a work-ethic and only approximately one hundred dollars worth of stock in my retirement account that was depleted in 2005 at age 41. I used all the cash for Eye-Movement-Desensitization-Reprocessing (EMDR) treatments that appear to be still having a positive affect by helping to reduce longstanding symptoms of Post-Traumatic-Stress-Disorder (PTSD). I have no health insurance other than that afforded an Honorably Discharged Veteran and my eating habits(see post dated 10 April 2012) of which I consider my own basic brand of “health insurance”. However I tend to steer clear of the Veterans Clinics for basic check-up or dental care,…so in essence,….it’s just available in a major type emergency if I ever need it. I maintain monthly financial obligations by utilizing the monetary compensation that I receive from the Veterans Administration to the best of my ability at this time.

The impact quantified breaks down like this:

During the most recent ten-year period from 2002 until 2012 I have been unemployed 99% of the time.

From 1991 through 2001 I was unemployed 55% of the decade.

From 1982 through 1990 I was unemployed 6% of the time.

The [over-all unemployment rate] from age 18 to 48(present) is 60%.

Currently out of thirty(30) of my adult working years,…I’ve struggled to maintain [inconsistent] employment 40% of the time.

According to “standards”,…by my late 40’s to early 50’s,…I should be hitting my stride career-wise and on target with retirement savings. Not so in my case due to my personal struggles with various aspects of Mental-Illness that includes: depression, anxiety, PTSD and elements of agora-phobia. This is a basic snap-shot of the devastating financial impact Mental-Illness has had and continues to have on my personal life. Now all you have to do is basically extrapolate this data / pattern in terms of my life and the lives of millions of other individuals living with various forms of Mental-Illness and you may begin to see an extremely disturbing National problem / trend concerning the financial impact that Mental-Illness potentially has on this country as a whole. Having said all this,…keep in mind that I’m an educated(formal & informal), intelligent and highly skilled individual that has been stifled by stigma, lack of support in general & Family, ignorance on my part and ignorance on the part of the medical community to some degree for 40 years,…regardless of my educational background. In my opinion,…this pattern has got to change for me and others if the country wants to thrive. I am doing my level best with the resources that I have at this time and that includes starting this Blog rather than remaining silent on what is a very devastating issue for myself, other individuals, families and the country as a whole.

What are your thoughts & feelings on the matter…???

2 Responses to ““Potential Long-Term Impact Of Mental-Illness On Employment & Personal Finance””

  1. gadflygirl said

    Terrific — and, as you say, devastating — aspect to share about mental illness. Thanks for opening up about your personal experience.

    These effects to individuals and to society cannot be overstated. At the same time, they are under-reported and underappreciated.

  2. Yes GadflyGirl,….

    You understood what I’m illustrating here with my experience in words…..
    Where you able to view the charts by clicking on the “high-lighted words…???
    The charts completely add another perspective to say the least.

    Howard Lovely, Jr.

Leave a Reply

