Busting Up Self-limiting Beliefs & My Swimming Progress In 90 Days. New-Years Eve-Eve December 30, 2014 (Swimming For Freedom & Overcoming PTSD)

12/30/2014

 

What a fantastic way to transition / end the current year and begin the new year of 2015…! I am damn pleased with my progress…! My nervous system is holding up fantastically and my coordination of all the different movements (right to left brain communication) and breathing is starting to flow together. My swim instructors & staff have been outstanding at helping me get to this level of swimming in such a short time…!

On a another note,…this is a very personal example of the power of self-limiting beliefs that kept me from trying to learn to swim for many decades because I was told long ago that I couldn’t do it. I even took up the charge and told myself repeatedly that I couldn’t learn to swim! I would tell anyone that asked me about my ability to swim,…”I can’t swim,…I sink like a rock”. With the right learning technique applied by very well trained instructors at least 18 – 27 years my junior,…and,…an adjusted [Can-Do] attitude on my part,…I ‘m swimming as you can see in my videos! For me this is a major achievement that has profound implications in terms of what I,…or anyone else can potentially accomplish with a little shift of belief system from a state of [I can not],…to,…[I can]. My thoughts directed my actions in either case,…and my subsequent actions got me a corresponding result in either case. Whether I believe I [can not],…or whether I believe that [I can] achieve a goal,…is clearly by this example largely dictated by my belief system. In either case I can argue for or against my limitations and be validated [right],…by my end results as [proof]. Life does really continually provide opportunities for the adult version of the childhood phrase “do-over!”. I or you can give ourselves permission to choose a “do-over” belief shift at any moment,…and get a virtual instant and different result that brings us joy and fulfillment much like my swimming has done for me. In 30 – 45 days I went from I can’t swim,…to I’ll sign-up for class,…to I’m swimming…! That’s fairly instant for a 50 year old Man who waited 42 years (15,330 days excluding leap years) to experience the joy of swimming! At this point my goal is to live to age 92 or beyond,…which will give me an unguaranteed approximate 15,330 days to choose to live a life of joy and fulfillment in whatever ways possible,…no matter what! Care to join me in the challenge?!

So,…if there is something that you desire,…a goal,…a dream,…a fantastic amorous relationship, a dream job,…etc.,…now is all you or I have. So try altering your belief about any subject matter that is important to you and check to see if your actions shift toward behaviors that produce your desired result. Look for an out-come that brings joy and fulfillment into your experience of life. Happy belief-shifting! 😉

P.S. The above mentioned concept is not new and is mentioned in many Sacred Texts & Traditions / Religions around the world dating back thousands of years.

Howard Lovely, Jr.

 

This side view video was taken tonight at swim class two days before the New-Year. Enjoy!

 

4 Responses to “Busting Up Self-limiting Beliefs & My Swimming Progress In 90 Days. New-Years Eve-Eve December 30, 2014 (Swimming For Freedom & Overcoming PTSD)”

  1. beuwolf@comcast.net said

    Congratulations, Howard for finding the guts to learn how to swim. I’m so happy for you. I also must thank you for encouraging all of us to face our fears no matter what they are. I must have missed something, but are you in California or Colorado? Are you involved with the California program and if so, how long will you be there? Nonetheless, I’m glad for you that you’re facing your fears.

    • Hey Genny,….

      Thanks for reading the post!
      Yes,….you got the point of the post very clearly!

      I’m still living down the street from ya……

      I’m not sure what program you are referring to Genny…?
      Will you clarify…?

      Howard Lovely, Jr.

  2. Gail Lane Montgomery said

    Glad to know you are doing well

Leave a Reply

